NSW Traveller’s Trophy, Round 2, Dobroyd Aquatic Club

The second round of the NSW Windsurfer Class Traveller’s Trophy Series was hosted by Dobroyd Aquatic Club, home to Windsurfing in Sydney’s Inner West on Saturday 10th January.

We had a great turn out, including three sailors who have not competed in this type of event previously.  It’s fantastic to welcome new faces to Windsurfer Class, with events like this being a great way to develop racing skills or to get back into the sport.  With ten Windsurfer One Designs joining the usual raceboard crew at DAC, the sailboard fleet really dominated the afternoon’s sailing and provided plenty of colour and action on the water for local spectators and passers-by.

Conditions were overcast, humid with light NE winds, unlike the big Nor-easters that had lashed the coast for the previous 3 days.  Plenty of pumping action on the reaching and down-wind legs kept us all working hard, and some of the sailors were wishing they had eaten a few less helpings of Christmas pudding as the conditions favoured the lighter sailors.

The first race was a large course with the start down near the UTS Rower’s Club (Haberfield) and a combined start with the Raceboarders.

The second race was shorter with the start at Callan Park, about 2/3rds up Iron Cove towards the Iron Cove Bridge.

The third race was a windward-leeward race that finished with a very long (and sweaty) downwind run from Iron Cove bridge back to the club house.  Results for the DAC races were Karen Murden (1st), Roger Crawford (2nd), Steve Walsh (3rd).

Race 1 and Race 2 results (only) count towards the travellers trophy.

The results of Travellers Trophy round 2 are:

Place First Name Surname DAC R1 DAC R2 total
1 Martin Stone 1 2 3
2 Karen Murden 3 3 6
3 Stephen Walsh 2 6 8
=4 Roger Crawford 5 4 9
=4 Steve Newman 4 5 9
5 David West 11 1 12
6 Rob Clay 6 7 13
7 Jorn Kronke 7 9 16
8 Ian Makin 9 8 17
9 Gerard Meli 8 10 18

for current rankings for rounds 1 and 2 of the travellers trophy, click here

interim results NSW travellers 2014 2015